Saturday Snippets-How I Edit

I tend to work on my book throughout the week, but for some reason Saturday is usually a day that I get a good bit done. Considering that I’m finished with Book 3 (Heck Yeah!) I am heavily into edits. So, that is occupying a lot of my time.

In my house, I’m the early riser. I think it’s just a personality trait. I can’t sleep late. I actually hate sleeping too late. It makes me feel off for the entire day. Also, the quiet of the early morning hours are always the best times to work.

So, what did I work on this morning? Or rather, how do I work on edits for my book? I don’t do grammatical edits. Sure, if I see them I correct them, but what I do is check for consistency and make sure I didn’t write something out of left field that is out of character for the book and its residents. πŸ™‚

I can’t do it all in one sitting and my memory is terrible so in order to keep up with where I left off, I highlight as I go. Example:

IMG_20160116_193257

There are other steps to this process. For the most part, I lock myself away from everyone so I can concentrate. Sometimes, I don’t listen to anything and read the story out lout, but then other times I want some sort of noise in the background so I listen to music. It could be instrumental or lyrical. There are so many artists that I listen too so it would hard to make a list!

I’ve found that Spotify is a great way to make playlists though. I have songs I listen to while I write or songs that get me into certain moods.

IMG_20160116_113114716

Louisa Wendorff is fantastic. You should listen to her!

I LOVE Spotify! I use iTunes for T-Swift though. I’ve always been a fan. I think she’s a poet who puts her magical prose to a beat. πŸ™‚ I am loving this 1989 album. Y’all check out the song “Clean.” It’s amazing!

IMG_20160116_113006906

I usually put my earbuds in, too. Even if I’m alone. It just seems to help me focus.

IMG_20160116_131743

Don’t mind my bed head!

So there you have it! This is my editing process. Is it the right way? Who knows. It’s just what works for me.

Happy Saturday!

~A

Leave a Reply

