Friday Favorites-Author Ashley Chappell

Hello everyone!

Has it really been that long since I’ve been on my blog? Um, maybe. However, I’m back and that’s all that matters, right? Besides, I’m back with something I hope you all will enjoy.

I’m launching my Friday Favorites! What is Friday Favorites? Well, it will mostly consist of books and authors. It won’t always be traditionally published authors either or massively popular books. Sometimes it will, but be on the look out for books and authors from the Indie world and small press.

Also, I might even throw in some movies, food, local restaurants, etc. The point is, you’ll never know what you’ll find here!

Not only is this a way for me to train myself to work on my blog, it’s also a fun way to showcase some books, people, and places you might not know about.

Today we’re talking about Author Ashley Chappell and her book, Of War and Taters. I met Ashley a little over a year ago and now I’m blessed to call her a friend.

Ash

Ashley Chappell

I didn’t know what to expect when I picked up a copy Of War and Taters. I mean, you can like a person, but not like a book, right? What can you really, I mean truly, expect from a book called Of War and Taters with a giant potato sitting inside a circus tent on the cover?

Of War & Taters

 

Having met Ashley, I was pretty sure this book was going to be a lot of fun. Guess what? I was right!

I’ll backtrack just a little bit here. With an exception to a few genres, I’ll pretty much read anything. I normally stick to the Paranormal and Fantasy type books, but if it’s a good read, I don’t care what genre it is. Still, I’m apprehensive to a fault at times. Let me say that I am glad I convinced myself to read a genre that I normally don’t read all that much.

Of War & Taters is satire with Southern flair. Oh it has flair! It has ghosts, circus performers, children lead “gangs”, murder, mystery, romance, and, you guessed it, taters. Take all that, throw in some misinterpreted statements and you have the national media swooping down on a small down, claiming there’s a problem with racism. Never mind the fact that the “gangs” are kids who get along just great.

There are honestly too many things I love about this book to say, “My favorite part was…” However, I will say this for Chappell, she created characters and a world, not too unlike our own. We get caught up in what someone says, but never stop to ask what they meant. Sometimes we say things without thinking about the other person too. We assume a lot about people based on their appearance and not their soul. And that’s how you get the media taking a situation, an innocent or perhaps, localized, situation and blow it completely out of proportion.

Of War & Taters is a fun read, it truly is, but it is much more than that. Sure, there’s a ghost that people can see and they think nothing of it. There’s a very eccentric heiress who is trying her best to kill her husband, the sheriff. Did I mention that a circus set up shop on a potato farm and the ring leader is trying to capitalize on the craziness that has settled on the town? Oh, there is a murderer on the loose too.

Like I said, there is so much more to this fun story set in a small southern town where the days are hot and slow and the most exciting thing there is usually to talk about is the weather. I feel like it could be one of those books that we want to pass down to the next generation and then the next because of it’s underlying message.  What message is that? I think you have to find out for yourself.

My review: So what happens in a small Southern town when a false claim of racism, amongst children no less, reaches the national news outlets? Chaos! Not only does Sheriff Stanley Grace have to deal with his quiet town being invaded with news vans, including the smart and attractive Dana “the I is silent” Perki, but the circus has decided to set up shop on Mad Mother Hinkle’s potato farm. On top of that, the recently deceased actor, Monty, has come back from the dead, ghost form style. As if it couldn’t get any worse, there is a someone loose in the town who is a real danger. Stanley knows it’s up to him to keep his town safe, that is if he can avoid an untimely death by his wife.

I haven’t read a book that has made me laugh, touched my heart, and creeped me out at the same time until I read Ashley Chappell’s Of War & Taters. This satire novel is full colorful characters, strong female characters, who have their own individual stories taking place, but those stories are so entertaining you don’t get lost and they tie back to the main plot. Even the dog, Cud, had his moment in the spotlight! My favorite character, though she didn’t get a lot of word count, was Mother Hinkle. She was fierce!
I can’t get over how amazing this book was. I know that Ashley will continue to write amazing novels for us to read. I am officially a fan!

Amazon link: Of War & Taters
Ashley’s website: http://www.ashleychappellbooks.com/ 
Ashley’s Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AshleyChappellAuthor

Leave a Reply

