The Fantastic Mind of Willow Renner

Willow

 

Willow has been furiously working on her three series for many years. She hopes you enjoy reading about the worlds she created as much as she enjoyed building them.

In her free time she enjoys designing and making jewelry, soap and candles. She adores writing with fountain pens and loves collecting them.

She is very active in the Twitter Writing Community.

It is universally known and recognized that Willow is made of awesome.

 

Willow is also giving away ebook copies of books 1 and 2 of her Lux Series. You can enter here!

 

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/NWMwMWJhODI2YjgyMWYwODhmMTJmZGNiNzRjY2M0OjE0/?

 

Author Questions

When did you realize you wanted to be an author?

In 2007. I kept having vivid dreams about the first series I would write: The Lux Seekers series. The dreams wouldn’t let me rest until I started writing them down.

 In what genre do you write?

YA fantasy, sci-fi, dystopian

 Is there a genre you haven’t written in, but want to?

Paranormal Romance. But I’m too embarrassed to write the sex bits.

 What is your writing process? Such as, outlining, freehand, computer vs paper and pen?

I’m an outliner. I write with pen and paper first. I love to see the ink flow across the paper. I think better on paper. After I’m done, then I type it into the computer.

 Who are you writing inspirations, famous or not?

Larissa Ione, Katie MacAlister, Gena Showalter, Kresley Cole, Stephen King, Edgar Allen Poe

 How much research, if any, did you have to put into your novel(s)?

I do research into the time period and the customs that I am writing about. I also do extensive world-building.

Do you listen to music while you write or edit? If so, who do you listen to?

The only music I can listen to while writing is instrumental “mood music.” I use the tempo of the music to fit the emotion I am working toward. I can listen to vocals before I start writing a scene. The music I like to set the scene is by: Apocalyptica, Evanescence, Seether, Disturbed and Breaking Benjamin.

 When you’re not being an amazing author and writing away, what do you for fun?

READ. I love to read, to be caught up and transported by a story.

 What has been the most exciting experience for you since starting your writing career?

I am still fairly new to writing. I guess the most exciting experience would be the satisfaction I feel when a scene comes together.

 Who created your amazing cover art?

The incredible graphic artist, Leah Kaye Suttle.

Give us a brief description of your WIP (work in progress) or your newest novel.

The Vita BioGen Legacy: Gods

YA sci-fi, dystopia

A disillusioned teen struggles to survive “winning” The Genetic Lottery.

I am currently working on a 3 book YA sci-fi dystopian series about Human Genetic Engineering. I think the technology has incredible potential, but where do we draw the line? Do we strive for perfection? Will this tech be available for all? Or will only the rich be able to afford it? I was inspired by MT Anderson’s book FEED and an informational video about the future of Bio Chips. It was truly frightening. Now, I believe Bio Chip tech could be a wonderful technology to store data only. But the potential is there for it to become very invasive and privacy robbing.

My series deals with a future where people have surrendered all personal rights and freedoms for a Corporation that takes care of their every need. But for a price. You must obey the Vita BioGen Corporation at all costs. Do what the Corporations tells you. Think, act and dress the way the Corporation wants. Above all, you must obey the rules. For the price of disobedience is Termination (death).

 TheSeekerMustAwakenFrontFINAL (2)

Reader Questions

What author would you geek out over if you met them in real life?

Stephen King (The Master of Horror)

As a reader, what about a book turns you away?

Excessive gore and violence (I don’t like gore either)

If you find you can’t get into a book, do you put it down or be a trooper and finish it?

I’m a trooper all the way. (There have only been a few that I haven’t been able to finish)

Do you stick to one genre or do you like to read around?

I definitely like to read in other genres.

Are you a book-in-your-hands reader, e-booker, or both?

Both. But if I had to pick a favorite: book-in-hand.

 

Random Questions

Favorite TV show?

The Walking Dead (Oh! We must chat more about this! Who is your favorite character?)

If you could eat one dish for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Since I’m a vegetarian that would be beans. They have the most protein.

What’s your favorite candy/dessert?

Pumpkin Pie (Do you make your own pie? Is there someone in your family who does? I love baking pumpkin pie!)

What band or musician can you listen to over and over again? You can list more than one.

Breaking Benjamin and Evanescence (Are you a pre-breakup Three Days Grace fan? I’m just curious?)

What is your dream vacation?

India. I want to spend a month living in an Ashram (holy place) and visiting all the temples in Tamil Nadu.

BookOfShadowsFrontFINAL (2)

Contact Information:

Author Name: Willow Anne Renner

Website: http://www.willowarenner.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Willow-Renner/288927907916707?ref=hl

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WillowRenner

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9797903.Willow_A_Renner

Book Links:

The Seeker Must Awaken: Amazon     Barnes and Noble

Book of Shadows: Amazon     Barnes and Noble

 

Leave a Reply

