Horror Author P.G. Harvey Closes out the October Blog Fest

1379516_10151885921535901_857335483_nP.G. Harvey is a retired Army sergeant, a world traveler, a motorcycle enthusiast, a musician, artist, and of course a writer. He lives in Pearcy, Arkansas with his beautiful wife and a great many critters and varmints where he spends his days weaving tales of the macabre.

P.G. Harvey Giveaway! A signed copy of Covington and a signed copy of the The Best of Dark Moon Digest that features his story Hope.

Enter here: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/5c01ba8213/

Author Questions

When did you realize you wanted to be an author?

            I discovered both reading and writing when I was about eleven years old and it has always been present in one way or another. It wasn’t until a few years ago, during a tour in Iraq, that I began writing in earnest. I finished the first draft of my novel Covington there and have been plowing ahead ever since. (Thank you for your service, sir!)

In what genre do you write?

I write mostly horror. Though I do branch out into other things from time to time, it generally has a dark theme to it.

Is there a genre you haven’t written in, but want to?

I’m a big history buff and have thought about trying my hand at that. Non-fiction I mean. Though that is more than just a leap between genres. (What period in history?!?)

10012075_10152072436411312_1877343765_o

What is your writing process? Such as, outlining, freehand, computer vs paper and pen?

I write mostly on the computer. For me, the main thing is setting goals and being disciplined to write. Editing is not writing. Research is not writing. Only writing counts as writing. As far as developing the story, it’s different with every project. I’ve done some that start with nothing more than a cool first sentence. Other times it is a general story line that I have in mind. But it comes back to sitting down and writing. I find that if I keep putting words on the page I will discover the story.

Who are you writing inspirations, famous or not?

More than anyone, I would say Ray Bradbury. His were the first real books I read when I was a kid. He had a passion for writing that still inspires me today.

How much research, if any, did you have to put into your novel(s)?

That usually falls into the editing process for me. I may look up a detail if it’s intricate to the story, but the main point is to get the story out. Once that’s done, I will go back and see if there need to be changes based on how things actually are or how they actually work. But you know, the truth should never get in the way of a good story.

Do you listen to music while you write or edit? If so, who do you listen to?

The thing is, I love music. But when I listen to music that is where my attention is. So no, when I am writing I have it quiet. (Ssh!)

When you’re not being an amazing author and writing away, what do you for fun?

I have ten million things, from music to art, to my woodshop, to my critters and the list goes on. But my biggest passion is motorcycles. I have a Harley-Davidson and am involved with a Club and all the things that bikers do. Motorcycles are medicine for the soul. (You are a creative soul) 

What has been the most exciting experience for you since starting your writing career?

That would be between writing “The End” on my first novel and holding that novel in my hands, published. (Smell those fresh pages!)

Give us a brief description of your WIP (work in progress) or your newest novel.

I just finished the first draft of a book called The Witch At Five Corners. I kind of use the Ray Bradbury template on this one, meaning each chapter is a complete story, all wound together to form a larger story. Obviously, the book is about a type of witch. I’ve always liked stories that explore the origins of an archetype, and that’s what I’ve done here. Aside from the events that are taking place now, I flash back to the formative and significant events in her life to see how she became what she is.

One of the stories, “Two Roads”, appears in the current issue of Dark Moon Digest. In takes place in the gangster world of 1929. Great story! You should definitely read it!

DMD17

Reader Questions

What author would you geek out over if you met them in real life?

I don’t know if I would “Geek out” over anyone, but I wouldn’t mind having a few drinks and maybe a bar fight with Ernest Hemmingway. (This seriously made me laugh!)

Hands down, what is your favorite book of all time and why?

I can’t think of any way to answer that. There are just so many great books in the world. (Understood)

What book would you like to see in film or do you believe that books should be left alone?

Not a huge fan. I’m not opposed to the idea, and a lot of books have become great movies. They just seldom do them justice. Rosemary’s Baby and The Exorcist are great exceptions to that. Those followed the book to the letter and were really good. But those two also demonstrate a bigger problem with film adaptations… and this is particularly true with kids’ books… that once a movie is made of a good book, people stop reading the book.

As a reader, what about a book turns you away?

Unrealistic characters. If the people in the story are just caricatures or have the quippy type dialogue you see on TV, it really turns me off. I think written characters should be more like real people. Another thing is when the author uses the name of a famous actor when describing a character. I think that’s just lazy writing. (I agree with this 100%!)

If you find you can’t get into a book, do you put it down or be a trooper and finish it?

Nope. Had to do that in high school.

Do you stick to one genre or do you like to read around?

I read so many things. My wife laughs because I generally am reading three or four books at a time. I try to keep it to only one novel though. But I read everything from classic literature to history to horror to how-to books.

Are you a book-in-your-hands reader, e-booker, or both?

I like real books. I’ve only ever read two whole e-books: The Evolutionist by Rena Mason and Moby Dick. So Rena is in good company.

IMG_1082

Random Questions

Favorite movie?

Can’t say I have a single favorite, but my guilty pleasure is Quentin Tarantino flicks.

Favorite TV show?

I don’t really watch TV (It’ll melt your brain!)

If you could eat one dish for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Beer, I suppose

What’s your favorite candy/dessert?

Well, we have ice cream almost every night. My wife also makes a pretty amazing apple pie

What band or musician can you listen to over and over again? You can list more than one.

Easy… Led Zeppelin. Hands down, the greatest rock & roll band ever.

What’s your hidden talent?

Well, it just so happens I play a pretty mean banjo! (Nice!)

What is your dream vacation?

A motorcycle trip around Europe. I lived in Europe for a few years and did a lot of travelling, but not on a bike. Sure would like to.

IMG_0359

Contact Information:

Facebook: www.facebook.com/petergadharvey

Book Links: www.pgharvey.com

Leave a Reply

