Author M. Pax talks The Rifters and Urban Fantasy

SONY DSC

M. Pax is author of the sci-fi series, The Backworlds, and the new adult urban fantasy Hetty Locklear series. Browncoat and SG fan, she’s also slightly obsessed with Jane Austen. In the summers she docents as a star guide at Pine Mountain Observatory where the other astronomers now believe she has the most extensive collection of moon photos in existence. No fear, there will be more next summer. She lives in stunning Central Oregon with the Husband Unit and two lovely, spoiled cats.

M. Pax isn’t leaving you empty handed! She is giving away 2 ebooks and 1 audio book from her works. Enter here:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/5c01ba8211/

Author Questions

When did you realize you wanted to be an author?

It’s always been part of me. In high school, I used to write stories about my friends and I, a running soap opera, and I’d stick the installments in their lockers. In junior high I either wanted to be an aerospace engineer, a horse trainer, or a writer.

In what genre do you write?

I write mostly speculative fiction, science fiction and fantasy.

Is there a genre you haven’t written in, but want to?

Yes, I’ve begun work on a historical fiction series, and I’d like to try my hand at womens fiction.

What is your writing process? Such as, outlining, freehand, computer vs paper and pen?

I start with jotting ideas in a journal. Each project gets a journal. When enough of the ideas and research have gelled, I’ll type a draft tagline, blurb, and an arc for each major character in the story. Those are at the top of my document. At the end of my writing session, I print out what I wrote. Later, I hand edit it and make a very brief sketch of the next couple of chapters.

This makes for a slow first draft, but it’s how my brain works. I do more outlining than I used to. I find I write more during each session if I do the brief scene sketches.

Who are you writing inspirations, famous or not?

Definitely Arthur C. Clarke, Frank Herbert, Kurt Vonnegut, and Ray Bradbury. Thomas Hardy had a big impact on me and Hermann Hesse. I read a lot of classic literature.

How much research, if any, did you have to put into your novel(s)?

Research is one of my favorite parts to writing. I love learning new things. I put quite a bit of research into every book. First off, there’s the science. With The Rifters, one of the characters is an actual historical figure. So, I read several biographies to get into his head as best as I could.

Do you listen to music while you write or edit? If so, who do you listen to?

No, I prefer silence. However, there are often cats yipping at me.

When you’re not being an amazing author and writing away, what do you for fun?

I volunteer at an observatory in the summers as a star guide. The reward is looking through the big telescopes. What’s out there is so amazing.

Husband Unit and I like to watch bad sci fi movies, and we enjoy exploring the wilds of Oregon. I like taking a lot of pictures. It takes us 3x as long to get anywhere as other people, because I have to stop every five miles or so to take photos.

What has been the most exciting experience for you since starting your writing career?

Hearing from fans is the best and most exciting part of being an author.

Who created your amazing cover art?

Erin Dameron-Hill of edhgraphics handles all of my graphic needs. http://edhgraphics.blogspot.com/

Is there an artist, book blogger, editor or anyone else that you want to give a shout out to?

Kelly Schaub is my awesome editor. She keeps me from creating Sharknados, and a huzzah to my author pack, Untethered Realms. We have an anthology coming out October 14th, Twisted Earths.

theriftersWEB

Give us a brief description of your WIP (work in progress) or your newest novel.

I just released the first two books in a new urban fantasy series, The Rifters and The Initiate. The stories are set in the fictional town of Settler, Oregon. There’s a misplaced outlaw from 1888, a misplaced librarian newly transplanted from New York City, quirky residents, a secret society, a rift, beings from other worlds, and a rift.

Reader Questions

What author would you geek out over if you met them in real life?

Is it possible to raise Jane Austen from the dead? I took a workshop from Ursula K. Le Guin a few years back. Awesome. It’d be cool to hang out with John Scalzi, Stephen King, and Neil Gaiman for an afternoon. Oh, I’d love to meet Tanya Huff, Margaret George, Tanya Huff, Peter Hamil, and Peter Mayle. I should shut up now…

Hands down, what is your favorite book of all time and why?

2001: A Space Odyssey. It made me think and wonder. The sense of awe inspires me every day.

What book would you like to see in film or do you believe that books should be left alone?

There can never be enough movies based on Jane Austen and her work. Other than that, I’d love to see Tanya Huff’s Confederation novels on screen. Fantastic series.

As a reader, what about a book turns you away?

Predictability.

If you find you can’t get into a book, do you put it down or be a trooper and finish it?

I used to be a trooper. Now I put it down.

Do you stick to one genre or do you like to read around?

I read around.

Are you a book-in-your-hands reader, e-booker, or both?

Both, but I’ve grown to prefer my Nook. However, the big publishers charge too much for their ebooks, so I opt for paperbacks there.

Random Questions

Favorite movie?

The new Star Trek.

Favorite TV show?

Firefly

If you could eat one dish for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Lasagna

What’s your favorite candy/dessert?

Ice cream

What band or musician can you listen to over and over again? You can list more than one.

Elvis Costello, Muse, The Cure, and Radiohead

What’s your hidden talent?

I don’t like baking, but I bake a mean pie

What is your dream vacation?

Iraq, to see the ruins of the ancient cities of Sumer and Babylon… if they still exist. Second, is the Alsace region in France/Germany.

Contact Information:

Author Name: M. Pax

Blog: http://mpaxauthor.com/blog/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mpaxauthor

Twitter https://twitter.com/mpax1

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5081223.M_Pax

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/mpaxauthor/

Book Links:

The Rifters [Free until end of the year Amazon / AmazonUK / B&N / Smashwords /Googleplay / iTunes / Other

2 thoughts on “Author M. Pax talks The Rifters and Urban Fantasy

Leave a Reply

