YA Paranormal Author, Lexi Witcher, Gets a little Twisted

Lexi Witcher is a published author of young adult contemporary paranormal romances. She’s always enjoyed stories about falling in love for the first time and watching programs geared toward teens like Pretty Little Liars, The Lying Game, Jane By Design, and Switched at Birth.

 

TwistedSixteen_600x900

 

 

Give us 6 details of your new book:

1. New book Title: Twisted Sixteen
2. It’s a continuation in the Dodie Jenks series.
3. Main character is Dodie Jenks. I’m writing in her POV because it is her story. I tried switching and writing it in the hero’s POV but it didn’t work because it wasn’t his story.
4. Leopold  is the hero and very pivotal to the outcome of the series.
5. There’s supernatural elements, suspense and romance.
6. It will be available thru Amazon.
Lexi is giving away a copy of Twisted Sixteen! You can enter for you chance to win by clicking the link below:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/5c01ba826/

 

Author Questions

When did you realize you wanted to be an author?

I was 12 when a friend shared the secret that her dad was writing a book. That sparked something in my head and I tried to write. It wasn’t until a year later when I read my first YA romance that I actually tried to write my own story. The rest is history.

In what genre do you write?

Young Adult. I have a YA Paranormal series and I’ve just began working on a straight YA with romantic elements.

Is there a genre you haven’t written in, but want to?

I might like to try my hand at New Adult or maybe a suspense.

What is your writing process? Such as, outlining, freehand, computer vs paper and pen?

I fly by the seat of my pants because in the initial phase I get ideas and they gel on the computer screen for me. Even when I get stuck I find if I sit down to write something will come to me and I’ll get over the hurdle. I do try to use GMC and have an idea what these three components are for my characters. Do I stick to that? Sometimes, but other times as the story progresses it changes for the characters for the better. Essentially I allow my characters the freedom to write their own story and use me as their medium.

How much research, if any, did you have to put into your novel(s)?

Since I do YA Paranormal I’ve had to spend time researching witchcraft, symbols and their meanings, natural elements, auras, supernatural experiences. I’ve watched programs, read a few books, but mainly searched for aspects on the internet.

Do you listen to music while you write or edit? If so, who do you listen to?

Yes. Yes. Yes. I listen to music when I write and edit. I have made my own mix of music for the series I’m writing.

When you’re not being an amazing author and writing away, what do you for fun?

I spend time with other authors, go to author/reader events, read for pleasure, watch period pieces or YA focused movies. I also love to travel whenever I can.

Who created your amazing cover art?

Christy Carlyle with Gilded Heart Design is my cover artist. She has designed two fabulous covers for my series and I can’t wait to put in the order for my third book which will be available sometime in 2015.

Give us a brief description of your WIP (work in progress) or your newest novel.

Twisted Sixteen is my upcoming release which will be available October 2014. It is the continuing story of Dodie Jenks and the fight to save her from the 300 year old curse that was placed on her family in the late 1700s. As the first born daughter of her generation, Dodie was supposed to have died on her sixteenth birthday, but a warlock named Leopold found a way to save her. The only problem is there is more than the curse out to get her. Will Leopold find a way to keep Dodie alive or will the dark shadows claim her?

 

bittersweetsixteen600x900

 

Reader Questions

What author would you geek out over if you met them in real life?

Sara Shepard or Alison Noël

Do you stick to one genre or do you like to read around?

I read across many genres.

Are you a book-in-your-hands reader, e-booker, or both?

I do both print and ebooks. Both formats have their merits.

Random Questions

Favorite TV show?

Pretty Little Liars

What’s your favorite candy/dessert?

Birthday cake. I love it.

What band or musician can you listen to over and over again? You can list more than one.

Katy Perry, Jason Derulo, One Republic

What’s your hidden talent?

Creativity, especially when I’m writing YA. The story ideas just come to me.

What is your dream vacation?

Anywhere with a beach. I’d love to go to a private beach resort and be pampered for a month while I write. Now that would be a dream vacation.

Contact Information:

Author Name: Lexi Witcher

Blog: lexiwitcher.wordpress.com

Twitter: @Lexi_Witcher

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/LexiWitcher

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/LexiWitcher

Book Links:

Bittersweet Sixteen http://amzn.com/B00IFVYCMS

Leave a Reply

