A Woman of Many Talents: Blogger, Cover Designer and Author, Ginny Gallagher, Stops by the Blog Fest

I “met” Ginny Gallagher when I first started looking for Book Bloggers to help me promote my book. She was willing to help me and I was thankful for her honest review of both of my books. Ginny is one of those bloggers that you know puts her heart into what she does, keeps her word and is a true champion of Indie Authors. She is a Book Blogger, Graphic/Book Cover Designer and still finds time to write. It seems fitting that she is our Blogger of the Month for our Blog Fest!

Ginny-Gallagher

Blogger Questions

What made you wake up and say, “I’m going to blog about books!”

I read a lot of books and I found myself not being able to keep track of those favorite quotes or remember if I even liked the book or not. So I started a blog without knowing there was even a thing called book blogs. I just wanted a place to journal my reads.

What genre do you enjoy reviewing the most?

Honestly, it depends on my mood. I most enjoy reviewing books that I love. The hardest books for me to review are the middle of the road books that I didn’t love but I didn’t hate either. It’s sometimes hard to put your finger on exactly what didn’t work for you as the reader.

Is there a genre you haven’t reviewed yet, but want to?

I don’t think so. The only books I don’t review are horror and erotica and those are two genres that I don’t intend on reading.

What hosting site do you use? Blogger, WordPress, other?

Self-hosted WordPress

Are their other Bloggers that you follow?

That’s a tough one because I follow A LOT of blogs. I love blogs. I follow book blogs, design blogs, food blogs, craft blogs, and coupon blogs. You get the idea. I love blogs! I have a Pinterest board for some of the book blogs I follow and I try to add to it as I find other great blogs to follow.

How much time does it take you to get one blog post up? Tell us your process.

Oh no! I’m embarrassed to say that it takes me about two hours to get a review post ready to post. I am anal and I agonize over the review. I don’t want to offend anyone but at the same time I am committed to being 100% honest in my reviews. Sometimes it takes a lot of adding and subtracting of words to find the right balance and not give any of the story away.

I usually get all my basic information set up (book cover, blurb, book links, author information, etc.), take a short break, and then go back and work on my review for about an hour. I really wish I could shorten the time it takes me to write a review. I’m working on it but haven’t found the special potion yet. 🙂

Do you listen to music while you’re blogging? If so, who do you listen to?

Most of the time I keep things quite. I get distracted easily so silence is usually my friend. If I’m just doing formatting or something that doesn’t require too much brain power I turn on Spotify and it’s usually set to 80’s music channel or movie soundtracks. LOL. I am not a loyal music fan. I flip flop all over the place. It drives my husband crazy.

Gins-Book-Notes-Profile-Pic

When you’re not being an amazing Blogger, what do you for fun?

Take a nap. 🙂 Really…I love naps. I guess it goes without saying that I also love to read. Outside of naps and reading I enjoy sewing, arts & crafts, watching TV, and just being lazy. Having a lazy day is totally FUN!

What has been the most exciting experience for you since starting your blog?

Attending UtopYA2014! It was awesome! You can read my post about it here. http://ginsbooknotes.com/no-fear-utopya2014-book-convention/

Who created your cute logo?

That would be me (blushing). I love designing. It took me a couple of tries to get something that I really felt captured my personality and blog. I am really happy with how it turned out. Thanks for the cute compliment. 🙂

When did you realize that your blog was a full-time job?

When I was staying up until 2 am to finish a post, reply to emails, and schedule social media posts for the next day. I am still working on balancing everything and not letting it be a 24 hour a day job but I think realizing that you are only one person helps.

You’re also a writer; do you want to tell us what you’re working on?

Eeep…I’m still not used to being referred to as a writer. I’m working on a romantic suspense with a touch of paranormal and a big dose of mystery. It will be a clean romance because that’s what I’m comfortable with and I’m sure readers don’t want to read my juvenile words for body parts. I’m hoping to be able to hit that publish button in Feb. 2015. My Facebook author page is https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Ginny-Gallagher/880340855311888. I would love for everyone to stop by and give it a like.

Will you be enlisting other Book Bloggers to help you market your book in the future?

Ummm….yes! I will be begging and pleading just like everyone else. I know it is hard to get your book “out there” and I know that everyone has limited time to share and help promote. I hope to have a product that everyone will be proud to share and talk about (fingers crossed and prayers being said).

Reader Questions

What author would you geek out over if you met them in real life?

Dead guy – Nathaniel Hawthorne. I love his stories. Young Goodman Brown is my favorite.

What about a book turns you away?

Overly graphic sex or/and violence earns an instant do not read from me. I don’t have a problem with other people reading and enjoying it. It’s just not something I like.

If you find you can’t get into a book, do you put it down or be a trooper and finish it? How does this work if you’ve promised a review on your blog?

Sometimes I continue on and find that I was just in a mood and the book turns out to be one of my favorites but if I just know that it isn’t going to work out I will go ahead and cut my ties. I also try not to promise reviews. Sometimes books that you think will be a good fit for you and your blog end up not being what you expected. In cases like that I just contact the author and let them know.

Do you stick to one genre or do you like to read around?

Oh, I read around. I’m totally skanky like that. 🙂  There are too many books in the bookstores for me to settle down with just one.

Are you a book-in-your-hands reader, e-booker, or both?

Both. But I do tend to read more on my ereader.

Random Questions

Favorite movie?

Completely mood based but if I could only pick one to watch for months on end it would be Emma with Gwyneth Paltrow.

Favorite TV show?

Currently I’m Netflixing my way through Heart of Dixie. But I also love Sleepy Hollow and can’t wait for The Originals to come back on. Oh, how I miss my vamps.

If you could eat one dish for the rest of your life, what would it be?

This is hard. Let’s go with Pot Roast that way I still get meat and several different vegetables.

What’s your favorite candy/dessert?

Lemon meringue pie for dessert and I love Twizzlers.

What’s your hidden talent?

Bahaha…. as if I would ever hide a talent..haha. No way! My motto is: “This little light of mine. I’m gonna let it shine.”

What is your dream vacation?

No laundry, no meals to cook, no chores, and a month with no bills.

Contact Information:

Blog: http://ginsbooknotes.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GinsBookNotes

Twitter https://twitter.com/@ginsbooknotes

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/7068334-ginny-gin-s-book-notes

Pinterest: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/7068334-ginny-gin-s-book-notes

2 thoughts on “A Woman of Many Talents: Blogger, Cover Designer and Author, Ginny Gallagher, Stops by the Blog Fest

Leave a Reply

