What Could’ve Been

I try to forget about moments, you saw me at home;

Forget about the fights and the nights you claimed my soul. 

All of those moments, I ran out of breath;

Now I see you running, out on the rest. 

You drove me wild, from the very first day;

You sent me flying high, now you throw me away. 

Do you think it mattered that you decided to call? 

Why not come face me, where you scared of the fall?

We could’ve had forever, we could’ve chased down our dreams;

But time is lost, along with me. 

I hope you’re happy with tasting my tears;

Wishing you could find a way back through wasted years. 

I hope you feel my hands dance upon your skin;

I hope they feel like fire and you never feel again. 

I want you burning, from the inside out.

The way I’ve felt since your winds threw me about. 

Let it take over and settle in your spine. 

I hope you remember, you could’ve been mine. 

4 thoughts on “What Could’ve Been

Leave a Reply

