Eden’s Scarecrow; Angels, Demons and Hired Killers

Do you ever have those days where you randomly snoop around Facebook seeing what you’re friends have been Liking? Yeah…me neither… Well, I have many author and reader friends and always look up books and authors they are either reading or talking about. That’s how I stumbled across a page titled Eden’s Scarecrow. The cover picture looked interesting enough for me to want to know more about this author and his book. I mean, who was this guy that wrote about a ruthless murderer who, after being struck by lightening and horribly burned, can now see angels and demons? What was goes on inside the mind of a man who also threw in a terrible, violence-inducing virus in the mix? I had to know more! So, sit back, relax and get to know Jeremiah Sanchez.

Jeremiah Sanchez

Jeremiah Sanchez

 

Jeremiah Sanchez is a small town author who grew up in Berthoud, Colorado. Being raised in an artistic family that surrounded him with painters, writers, actors and singers, he’s always been encouraged to express his creativity and enjoy the beauty in all things around him. Also being raised in open minded Christianity, all things God related and philosophically challenging have been familiar topics. Ever since he was little, he was obsessed with writing and expressing his thoughts through poetry, short stories and songs. Between them and his drawings, angels and demons have been ever constant themes. Then, at the age of nineteen, the entire ‘Eden’s Scarecrow’ story hit him during a night shift at Walmart. Ever since then, aside from his day job as a personal trainer, his entire life has been dedicated to bringing the series to life!

Eden's Scarecrow

Eden’s Scarecrow

 

Paul is a heinous murderer. Hired by a local drug lord, he kills in cold blood, exacting lethal retribution on indebted narcotics scum. Any innocence in his path, he considers collateral damage. One night, after an exceptionally ruthless bloodbath, Paul gets struck by lightning. In addition to being burnt so badly that he’s left unrecognizable, he’s suddenly forced the terrifying ability to be able to physically see the angels and demons influencing humanity. They’re not ghosts or hallucinations. They’re vivid and real…very real. With the unbearable truth and horror of reality staring him in the face, he has no choice but to deal with the wretched evil that has consumed and controlled him his entire life, and maybe…maybe save his soul from eternal damnation. With the help of his newly acquainted guardian angel, Barney, he will face the trials of hungry demons. Paul must deal with the consequences for his past and try to become someone, not only worth forgiving, but worth saving. In addition to his own inner tribulations, Paul must also uncover the truth behind a growing epidemic. The city of Eden is falling ill to what is being dismissed as simply a bad virus. The eyes of the infected are glazing over. Violent outbursts with animalistic growling are plaguing the populous. Authorities and doctors are baffled. The uninfected are terrified. But as the virus grows and the conditions worsen, only Paul can see the infection for what it really is. Real Eyes, the first installment of the Eden’s Scarecrow trilogy, brings readers along for a gruesomely supernatural ride. It will make you question what lurking shadows surround you, and ultimately, what unseen angels or demons might be whispering in your ear right now.

 

Author Questions

When did you realize you wanted to be an author?

I’ve been writing ever since I was a little kid. I’d doodle some art and then write short stories to accompany them, so, honestly, it’s been a lifelong passion.

In what genre do you write? Is there a genre you haven’t written in, but want to?

My first trilogy is a blend of spiritual and horror. I already have my next series mapped out, and it’s going to be a combination of philosophy and science fiction.

What is your writing process? Such as, outlining, freehand, computer vs paper and pen?

My process always begins with a brainstorming session with a close group of friends, who I’ve titled “the parachute minds”. Then, I’ll just plunge into the book on my laptop.

Who are you writing inspirations, famous or not?

I have obvious respect and admiration for the heavy hitters like Stephen King and Dean Koontz but my favorite author since childhood is Frank E. Peretti.

How much research, if any, did you have to put into your novel(s)?

For my ‘Eden’s Scarecrow’ trilogy, I’ve researched as many religions, beliefs and superstitions as I can get my hands on. It’s intriguing to see the different deities and things people invest faith into. My primary topic of study has been possession.

Do you listen to music while you write or edit? If so, who do you listen to?

There are times when music fuels my words, and times when I prefer to submerge myself in silence to allow the purity of the art. When I do listen to music, I don’t have a genre or artist that I’m loyal to. I simply require whatever song it is to be hypnotic and help distract me from any and all surroundings.

When you’re not being an amazing author and writing away, what do you for fun?

I spend most of my free time in the gym training myself and others. Otherwise, I dabble in many facets of life. I’ve modeled for a few years and am working on breaking into acting as well.

What has been the most exciting experience for you since starting your writing career?

Aside from the bizarre phenomena that non-writers will never experience, which is becoming emotionally close to fictional characters you pull out of your head, I’d say the most exciting experience has been noticing the differences in my everyday life that reflect the story. My dreams are filled with parts of my books, which only concretes my relation to them. I’ll catch myself asking myself how so and so would deal with day to day issues or circumstances, constantly putting my own characters in my real life shoes.

Who created your amazing cover art?

The cover art is of my own design. I’ve been an avid artist as long as I’ve been writing and I want to be in control of as much of the process as I can.

Give us a brief description of your WIP (work in progress) or your newest novel.

I just finished the second installment of the ‘Eden’s Scarecrow’ trilogy, ‘Realize’, which I’ll be releasing soon!

What author would you geek out over if you met them in real life?

I’m going to have to go with a repeat offender here and say Frank E. Peretti. He’s my writing idol.

Hands down, what is your favorite book of all time and why?

I have to go with top two, and they’re both very far apart. First is ‘The Oath’ by Frank E. Peretti. It scared the Hell out of me as a kid and then caught my interest as I grew. I love the story and the message that it delivers with a hammer. Secondly, I thoroughly enjoy ‘Fight Club’ by Chuck Palahniuk. Any story that can challenge beliefs and open minds to new possibilities resonates with me.

What book would you like to see in film or do you believe that books should be left alone?

I’m going to have to go selfish here and say mine. I truly think my books would make incredible movies!

As a reader, what about a book turns you away? If you find you can’t get into a book, do you put it down or be a trooper and finish it?

Any book that takes forever to get interesting or is obviously forced I’ll put down and find something better to invest my time into.

Do you stick to one genre or do you like to read around?

Once again, if it’s well written and an interesting topic, I’ll read any genre.

Are you a book-in-your-hands reader, e-booker, or both?

I’m a fan of the old fashioned book-in-hand. I like the physical copy.

Random Questions

Favorite movie?

My favorite movie is a tough toss up between Gladiator, Braveheart and 300. I’m a big action buff.

Favorite TV show?

My favorite TV shows are Game of Thrones, Dexter and I have an enormous soft spot for cartoons.

If you could eat one dish for the rest of your life, what would it be?

My ideal meal to eat for the rest of my life would have to be honey glazed salmon, mashed sweet potatoes and asparagus.

What’s your favorite candy/dessert?

My favorite dessert is homemade protein cheesecake.

What band or musician can you listen to over and over again?

I’ve been a die hard Blue October fan for most of my life. They purge my soul, and have the most poetic lyrics I’ve ever heard.

What’s your hidden talent?

Writing has actually been my hidden talent. Most everyone who knows me well thinks I’m primarily a gym junky, but now that the writing passion has fully emerged, it’s been surprising to many.

What is your dream vacation?

I’d like to spend a week in an underwater hotel, watching sharks swim by my window. That’d be exciting!

Contact Information

Author Name:

Jeremiah Sanchez

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/miahhighclub
https://www.facebook.com/edensscarecrowtrilogy

Book Links:

Amazon Print:  http://www.amazon.com/Edens-Scarecrow-Real-Jeremiah-Sanchez/dp/1611023459/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1408122625&sr=8-1&keywords=eden%27s+scarecrow
Amazon Kindel: http://www.amazon.com/Edens-Scarecrow-Real-Sanchez-Jeremiah-ebook/dp/B00JPPKYXY/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1408668215&sr=1-1&keywords=eden%27s+scarecrow

Leave a Reply

