From the mind of Alan Lewis; Steampunk, Pulp and Fantasy

Alan Lewis is the author of Steampunk and Pulp fiction. He was gracious enough to let me interview him. I must say that my questions range from standard to strange so I was thrilled he was willing to participate! Ha! Before we get into the interview, please get to know Alan a bit more.

Author Alan Lewis

Author Alan Lewis

In 1965, an object fell from space, somewhere near Kecksburg, PA. This was the same year that Alan was born. To date, no connection has been made between the two events but that hasn’t stopped the conspiracy theorists from speculating.

D. Alan Lewis is an ‘alleged’ native of Chattanooga, Tennessee who now resides in Nashville with his children. In 2006, Alan took the reins of the NWMG’s Novelist Group where he works with new and aspiring writers, leads writing and publishing workshops, and has worked to publish their 4 anthologies.

Alan’s debut novel, a fantasy murder mystery, The Blood in Snowflake Garden was a finalist for the 2010 Claymore Award. Alan’s other books include, The Lightning Bolts of Zeus from Dark Oak and The Bishop of Port Victoria. He is also editor of 3 anthologies for Dark Oak Press, Luna’s Children: Full Moon Mayhem, Luna’s Children: Stranger Worlds, and Capes & Clockwork.

He also has short stories in a number of anthologies, including Dreams of Steam 4-Gizmos, Black Pulp, Nashville Noir, Beyond the Skyline, Comfort Foods, and Midnight Movie Creature Feature Vol.2.

Author Questions

When did you realize you wanted to be an author?

I’ve always been a storyteller, in one form or fashion. I toyed with the idea of writing when I was in my 20’s and again in my 30’s, but never really got started. There wasn’t any real support from family when I talked about the idea. However, after a divorce in my 41 year, I jumped into writing my first novel and haven’t look back since.

What is your writing process? Such as, outlining, freehand, computer vs paper and pen?

The process depends on what I’m writing. The more complex the story, the more I outline. Some short stories are not outlined at all. Everything I write is on my computer. When I start, picture the characters first and piece together their personalities. From there, I start putting the story together.

Who are you writing inspirations, famous or not?

Douglas Adams, author of ‘The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’ has always been my biggest inspiration. There are plenty of other authors that I’m a fan of, but Adams holds the top spot. Alex Bledsoe would be in the second spot. I met him years back and have been an avid fan since then.

How much research, if any, did you have to put into your novel(s)?

Again, it depends on the story. I try to do some degree of research for everything I work on. My story, ‘Anne Bonny’s Revenge’ in Pro Se Press’s ‘Tall Pulp’ required more research then many of my other stories and novels combined.

Do you listen to music while you write or edit? If so, who do you listen to?

I love listening to movie scores while working. The type of music, a fast or slow-paced work, depends on the scene I’m working on.

When you’re not being an amazing author and writing away, what do you for fun?

Hiking, canoeing, playing video games, hanging with my kids. All the usual stuff.

What has been the most exciting experience for you since starting your writing career?

Exciting? I guess going to various SF&F conventions. My first con was in 1977 and I’m still not used to being a guest. So it is interesting sitting on panels and talking, as well as having folks walking up to you asking for you to sign their books.

Who created your amazing cover art?

Depends on the book. ‘The Blood in Snowflake Garden’ cover is a photo taken by the staff of the original publisher. The cover art for ‘The Lightning Bolts of Zeus’ was printed by the great Mitch Foust. ‘The Bishop of Port Victoria’ cover art was created by Jeffrey Hayes.

Is there an artist, book blogger, editor or anyone else that you want to give a shout out to?

Jeffrey Hayes and Mitch Foust are great artist and I’d encourage everyone to check out their work.

Reader Questions

What author would you geek out over if you met them in real life?

Since I started writing and have been going to cons where many great writers hang out, I’ve met many talented folks. But to name a few that I’ve not met yet: Anne Rice, Max Brooks, Jim Butcher, and Dan Brown.

As a reader, what about a book turns you away?

Any number of things. Poor writing or editing. An unappealing topic. Flat or uninteresting characters. Huge plot holes.

If you find you can’t get into a book, do you put it down or be a trooper and finish it?

It depends on if I know the author. If I do, then I try to finish it.

Do you stick to one genre or do you like to read around?

I am all over the place when it comes to my choices in reading.

Are you a book-in-your-hands reader, e-booker, or both?

Both

Random Questions

Favorite movie?

Serenity (major Firefly fan) but The Di Vinci Code is a close second.

Favorite TV show?

The Daily Show.

If you could eat one dish for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Godfather’s Pizza

What’s your favorite candy/dessert?

Sugar-free blackberry cobbler

What band or musician can you listen to over and over again? You can list more than one.

Don Fagan, Pink Floyd, Evanescence

What is your dream vacation?

I’ve always wanted to go to London.

 

I can’t thank Alan enough for being a part of my blog! If you want to know more about him and stay in contact, you can do so at one of the following sites:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-D-Alan-Lewis/141282752579697

Blog: http://www.snowflakegarden.com/

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/D.-Alan-Lewis/e/B006DA9P2U/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_16?qid=1404484795&sr=1-16

Leave a Reply

