I Survived My First Speaking Engagement!

I survived! The speaking engagement at Madison County High School that is. I have to say that it was one of the best experiences of my writing career so far. The book signings I’ve held have been fantastic because I get to meet new readers. However, this speaking engagement was thrilling because I was given the chance to tell my personal story and possibly inspire others! It would have been an amazing treat to have a local author come speaking to me when I was in high school.

Here I am speaking to a group of kids at MCHS.

Here I am speaking to a group of kids at MCHS.

 

The kids were fantastic, attentive and genuinely interested in what I had to say. I had several questions that I was prepared for and others were some I didn’t really think about, but found important to share with other students. Granted, at the beginning I did have to pry questions out of them. They were shy, but after a while they got a little braver and started asking questions on their own.

I needed that shelf to lean on! :)

I needed that shelf to lean on! 🙂

After speaking to the kids I was able to do a giveaway! I love doing giveaways. Each event I go to I make sure to bring something with me to raffle off. I’m not sure if other authors do this, but I think it’s helpful in many regards. For one, it gets your listeners excited about what you’ve written if they can possibly win a copy of your book. Secondly, once they get their hands on it, read it, enjoy it, then they can share it with others.

Winners of the giveaway!

Winners of the giveaway!

After the raffle I was able to walk around and talk to the kids. Many of them had more questions that I greatly enjoyed. One kid in particular was shy about asking me to come over so I could give him my autograph until his friends prodded him long enough. He was just adorable! Another boy and girl called me over to tell me how much they enjoyed reading and were looking forward to reading my book. That meant the world to me. So I went around signing bookmarks and slips of paper for whoever wanted it.

Signing bookmarks for the kids

Signing bookmarks for the kids

 

All in all, it was a great time where I got to meet some really cool kids and teachers. Thank you Madison County High School for letting me come and share my story. You are a huge inspiration!

Me and my book cover in the MCHS Library

Me and my book cover in the MCHS Library

 

Thanks!

A

 

 

2 thoughts on “I Survived My First Speaking Engagement!

Leave a Reply

