My first speaking engagement! Exciting yet, terrifying?

I can see my breath in the air this morning. It is officially too cold to go outside! Ha! I’m such a sissy when it comes to cold weather. However, I must survive as today I have a speaking, about my book and writing process, to do at a local high school. I’ll be talking to a room full of very opinionated teenagers. This should be interesting. My track record with kids is pretty good if I do say so myself. I teach a Wednesday night class at church for 4th through 6th grade and I throughly enjoy it. Yet, I have never spoken to a group of teenagers before.

 

In fact, public speaking makes me nervous. Why do you think I like to write? It’s just you and your pen or computer. There are no judgmental eyes watching your every move. Every time I had to do a presentation at school or in college my stomach would be in knots. I managed through it, but it’s just not something I readily volunteer for. Knowing that I have to speak to teenagers, who have yet to find their filter, is enough to send me scurrying back into my office. My sister said, “They can smell fear.” so I guess I have to suck it up. Let’s hope I don’t let myself or them down.

I guess what I’m saying is that I hope that I can get on their level. I hope that I can connect with them so they don’t think I’m a nutcase! When I was a teenager there were just some adults who I thought “didn’t get it” so it was hard for me to connect with them much less communicate. I just want this experience to be educational and thought provoking for me and them. I want to challenge them to write and to read. I want to install in them a desire to learn more about the written word. If they take anything away with them after this I hope it’s a hunger to follow their dreams.

Wish me luck!

A

Leave a Reply

