Thank you Laura Hilburn!

Writing has always been a passion of mine. However, it was a secret passion. I had this fear that if I put my writing out there it would be rejected. I remember the first time I let someone, other than a family member, read my work. I was on pins and needles, waiting to see if they hated it. Yes, it was a lack of self-confidence on my part. Inwardly, I thought that I wasn’t good enough or talented enough. It was also because I know that not everyone would like it. To this day I know that. I also know that people can be mean and tear you down faster then you can blink. 

Still, there are moments when someone will like what you do, maybe even love it. When I get a compliment on my work, my heart just flutters with joy. I wish I could show that person how greatly I appreciate the nice things they say and how encouraging that is. I want to take them and give them my emotions so they know, without a doubt, that they have changed my life in a positive way. Forever, they have become this beacon of light and an inspiration. 

I know that is not possible, but what is possible is for me to thank them and to keep writing!

What brought this on was someone contacting me over Facebook. What they said to me was really, really amazing. Her name is Laura. We went to high school together, but I was a grade or two ahead of her. Our interactions were minimal but I always thought and still do, that she was such a good person and a sweet girl. Now she’s a sweet woman with a family of her own! Thanks for making me feel old, Laura! Just Kidding! 

Moving on, I wanted to share with you all, with her permission, what she sent to me. These words, especially for a “starving artist” and someone who is just beginning their writing journey, touched me so deeply on a positive level. Without further ado, here is what she said: 

“Hey! Just wanted to let you know that I bought your book over the weekend and I’m about 3/4 of the way through it! I would probably be done by now, but I have a 2 year old to run after lol I love it so far and can’t wait for the next one! It’s so refreshing to see someone incorporate their Faith so much into their writing! You see a lot of people thank God, but rarely do you ever see them really talk about it in the books so it was awesome to see that in yours!! I know it isn’t the “popular” thing to do today so it really makes you stand out and I know He is proud of you for not taking the easy way out! Again, I can’t wait for the next book!!!”

This made me realize that I am doing this for a reason. The fire that burns inside me, the one that needs to write to survive, burns for a reason. While I am not perfect, and never will be, I know that God has given me this talent and this desire. I want to always please Him. I will fail and I will fall, but I know that He is there helping me get back up. 

So, thank you Laura Hilburn! Thank you for always being that sweet, funny, amazingly beautiful girl I remember. 

Amanda

Leave a Reply

