The Title is….

When I first started writing my book, I had the name picked out. It felt great at least having that completed when I was still unsure of exactly where my story was going. Little did I know how wrong I was with that title. When did it hit me that I had the wrong title? When I hired the artist to work on my cover art. When I sat at me desk to read through my book just one more time and was working with the artist I realized the title just wasn’t going to work for a number of reasons. Let me count the ways.

First of all, I had pulled the title from a piece of music that was inspiring. The song really was something that I loved to listen to and for a while I thought that the song embodied what my book was about. Then the more I read, the more I listened, I knew that the title just wasn’t what I was going for. While it held some resemblance to my story; it didn’t capture what I wanted it to.

Secondly, I felt sort of like a cheat. Haha! I was reading the title and thinking that I was getting out of naming my book too easily. The title, just like the story, should be something that comes from my heart. I shouldn’t depend on someone else’s words to tell me how I feel about my book.

Lastly, the title wouldn’t mesh with the other two book titles (this is a trilogy) so I had to start from the beginning.

Again, I read the book wondering in the back of my mind what I wanted to name it. Other authors can relate to the fact its like naming your child. You want it to be special and to have meaning. So, without further ado, here is my title and brief synopsis of what my story is about. I really hope you all like and are intrigued enough to look forward to the release.

The Shadow
by A.G. Porter

Rayna Stone is an eighteen year old girl from a small Alabama town that just wants to save a little money to help her mom pay the bills. In order to do that she has to find a summer job. The problem with that, the only place that is willing to take her is the upscale golf resort of The Landing. This was not her idea of a summer job, being around snobby, rich folks, but when she meets eyes with the owner’s son, Ian, she starts to see the brighter side of things. That is until she’s seeing things that she can’t quite explain and having dreams that are haunted by a being she calls The Shadow.

The Shadow brings her dreams of death and horror. It isn’t long before Rayna realizes the deaths she sees are really occurring and begins to try to figure out who is behind these sadistic crimes. Quickly, Rayna’s gift begins to grow and soon she not only has dreams, but visions and can feel the emotions of those around her. She knows that this killer is slowly moving their way closer and closer to her home town. With the help of a few trustworthy friends, Rayna and her new abilities are the only weapons strong enough to stop this murderer. That is if The Shadow doesn’t consume her first.

P.S.
The cover art is almost done! Yay! I can’t wait to share it.

 

Leave a Reply

